The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Interpreting record of officer on board HMS Glatton

Liz in Eastbourne

I'd be very grateful for help in interpreting a naval record - I am new at this, but am doing some local history research which has involved several WW1 naval officers (none related to me).

Lt Walter S Galpin was on board HMS Glatton at the time of the original explosion in Dover harbour on 16 Sept 1918, according to a family history, and 'placed on retired list 1919 on account of injuries received in the Glatton explosion'.

His record is confusing and at times impossible for me to read but the reason given for his being retired as medically unfit is 'myopic astigmatism', i.e. short sight plus additional defect. I've had this since I was a child, like many people; it's hardly a major disability, but would I think have prevented him being taken on at Osborne in the first place (in 1905). I was expecting burns etc. Also he had been posted to Iron Duke five weeks later and then RN College Keyham, before being retired medically unfit. But I can decipher 'neurasthenia' several times and wonder if he had some kind of post-traumatic stress syndrome without major physical injury as a result of being on board the ship when the explosion happened. A bit like shell shock in the trenches. I even wondered if he had not actually been on board at the time, as they were in the harbour. The subsequent deliberate sinking of the ship would be shattering in any case especially if he had friends trapped below. The eyesight defects would then just be an acceptable reason for being declared unfit.

Has anyone come across mention of this, whether in the case of HMS Glatton or any other naval disaster in WW1? How did the Navy cope with people going to pieces?

Subsidiary question - he nevertheless carried on doing training work and got promoted in retirement to Lt Commander (rtd) in 1923 and Commander(rtd) in 1932, finally retiring in 1946. Can anyone explain this?

Liz