The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Insignia Interpretation Please

Griffin

Further to earlier posts in the 'Units and Formations' section, I've now got a photo of my Great-Uncle, Maj-Gen Sir Thomas Yarr, RAMC, from the National Portrait Gallery.

I'm hoping some of the experts here will be able to explain the significance of various bits of medal ribbon, braid, chevrons and so forth which can be seen on his uniform.

It was taken in 1919, when he was Inspector Medical Services.

Regards,

Arthurpost-17302-1169931298.jpg

Arthur, I'm no expert, but:

Right cuff, inverted chevrons - these are overseas service stripes, one for each year, and the bottom on (if in red) would indicate 1914 service. he appears to have 5, so that's 1914-1918 covered.

Shoulder - rank badge. The crossed sword and baton indicate a general; it appears there's a crown or star above indicating a major- or lieutenant general.

Collar - gorget tab, indicating a staff officer. the size and shape of his definitely indicates a general rank. I think (not sure0 these were in arm-ofservice colours, but i really don't know.

Row of medal ribbons on chest.

General officers cap badge, and again, a coloured hat band indicating a Staff or general post.

Hope this helps - surprised no-one else came in earlier.

Thanks, Steven.

Insignia seems to be a language in itself.

Regarding his chevrons, he certainly spent plenty of time abroad. He joined up as a surgeon in 1886, coming over from Ireland. He soon went to China for five years, then back to Blighty, then was seconded as the personal physician to the Crown Prince (later King Rama VI) of Siam for about five years, then South Africa for a year and a half in the second Boer War, then Bombay for a few years, later Malta, then Gallipoli in '15 as ADMS to the Med Expeditionary Force (under the much loved Hunter-Weston), then Egypt, and after that the trail grows cold. At some point he was Medical Officer to the Coldstream Guards.