The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

4/5th Bn. Black Watch war diary October 1916 Battle of the Somme

cindyathome

Are there any members out there who have a copy of the 4/5th Bn. Black Watch Royal highlanders war diary for the period of October 1916 - in particular the 25th of October and the days prior?

The battalion was engaged in the Battle of the somme. I am interested in finding out what they were doing in teh days leading up to my ancesotrs death. I'm trying to research Francis Henderson Thomson who was killed during this battle on the 25th of October SN3526.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

hope there is something out there. I am a newbie when it comes to military research and presume that most records are destroyed in relatin to his military service records. I have been trying to find something on Alexander Thomson also who served in the Salonika forces for the BMEF but coming up blank so far also. Hope someone can point me in the right direction. :)

My kindest regards,

Cindy from Australia

Cindy.

This is an excerpt from Maj Gen Wauchope's History of the Black Watch.