The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Death plaque question

Guest cicero

Hello everybody.

First i like to introduce myself.

I'm Adrian,36 year old and living in Belgium. (so forgive me my bad English).

I'm a interested in ww1 history and collect and preserve the artifacts from that period.

But as a newbie i would like to start with a question concerning my Death plaque in my collection. (see picture)

As i understand,there is a difference between the H (in HE) and de H (in Honour) for RN (Royal Navy?) and RA (Royal Artillery?) plaque's.

The H in the Army type's don't have those difference,correct?

So i have this plaque with the difference in the 'H' and it's is marked on the back with a W with a line across the central peak creating an A. (Woolwich Arsenal)

May i assume that this plaque is from a killed Royal Navy or Artillery man?

Anyway,every help,opinion and info is highly welcome about my plaque.

Thanks,Adrian.

death%20plaque.jpg

Hi Adrian and welcome to the forum.

A quick glance at the CWGC website reveals no "G.Howard" or "George Howard"s on their files who served in the navy, so you can practically wipe this idea off. There are 25+ who served in the armies of Great Britain, South Africa and Australia though.

(I've never heard of a difference in the plaques for the Royal Artillery before, can anyone expand on this for me?)

Dave.

Hi Adrian and welcome to the forum,

The only distinguishing factors on a plaque that may help identify the man is the H's. Memorial Plaque's named to members of the Navy show a much narrower H in 'He Died...." (See photo below of a Navy Memorial Plaque Detail). There are no regiment or corps distinctions.

Your George Howard is most definitely not naval, and is one of the 25+ fatalities that Croonaert has eluded too.

Best regards

David

post-23-1077138436.jpg

Hi