The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

POW in Senne camp Germany

migky

Can any one please tell me any thing on this mans time in the POW camp please?

I have his Attention papers and his medal card and his record of his death from the CWGC site too

I would like to try and find anything i can on his time in the POW and if there were any records of his escape?

I have just received a letter from the red cross ( in French ) i have transcribed it the best i could below.

On it they have him as a L.Corp but i have no knowledge of this?

Name surname John MARTIN

Rank L. Corp

Incorporation Connaught Rangers 10765

Lieu capture Guise

Lieux detention of prisoners of war in German hands present in the camp Senne (according to a list received on 16.12.1914, a list received on 20.02.1915 and a list with information of non datee

Provenance list of three German authorities

The CWGC report.

THE FAMILY WAS LIVING AT " FAIR HILL ROAD, IN THE CLADDAGH AT THE TIME OF JOHNS DEATH. JOHN`S SERVICE NUMBER AND REGIMENT WERE; PRIVET 10765 THE FIRST CONNAUGHT RANGERS. JOHN HAD ESCAPED FROM A GERMAN PRISON OF WAR CAMP IN 1915. JOHN`S MEDALS: Victory Medal A/102B5 694, British War Medal AND 14 Star A/6 62. REMEMBERED: BASSRA MEMORIAL IRAQ (40&64)

Many thanks

Migky ;)

I can find no record of his escape in WO161 or FO383 which is odd. Possibly it was before the committee was formed or really got going. There are a few repatriations that do not seem to have been interviewed. The L/Cpl could be either a field promotion which was not recorded which is unlikely or possible a "self promotion" which was not uncommon and a way for PoWs to avoid work. Self promotion seems to have been relatively easy to get away with, at least for a time though I am not sure that escaping work went down as far as L/Cpl and even so most ended up working as a way of relieving the boredom and getting better food. There is a small list of some of the Connaught Rangers at Sennelager in 1915 but he is not on it (FO383).