The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Private Joseph Kendall 10729

Guest helenmars

Guest helenmars

I am trying to find out some more about my great-uncle Joe who died in The Great War on 25th September 1915 aged 20.He was born in Nuneaton Warwickshire and his parents were living in Arley when he was killed. Does anyone know which battle he would have died in? And does his name being on the Menin Gate mean he has no known grave?I am very new to this research and would appreciate any help or info.Also why would he have been in the Oxford and Bucks, if he had been born in Warks.Thanks very much in advance.

Hello Helen and welcome to the forum

To answer your questions in no particular order (or easiest first)

As Joe is commemorated on the Menin Gate this means that he has no known grave. The Menin Gate bears the names of over 54000 men, with no known graves, who were killed in the Ypres Salient between the beginning of the war and 16th August 1917. This means that Joe died somewhere in the vicinity of Ypres.

On 25th September 1915 there were no large scale operations taking place in the Salient, other than some raids by way of diversion from the main British thrust that day at Loos in France. Also there would have been the normal attritional round of trench warfare.

As for him joining the Ox and Bucks L.I., who knows, most likely by choice.

If you give us your Great Uncles full name maybe we can give you further details as to the circumstances of his death.

By the way was he in the 5th Battalion Ox and Bucks?

Hope this helps

Andy

Guest helenmars