The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Great War Handbook by G Bridger

Muerrisch

Just arrived from N&M.

This is a first impression only.

It is for beginners: many, perhaps most, Pals do not need it, and between us we could have done rather better.

Page 221/2 is in my narrow expertise, and contain at least 8 errors of commission or omission.

At that rate one might dread 200pp x 8 problems = ?

And, for nonsense, how about p103, where he equates the private soldiers' pay of 1/1- to a modern six pence? How many pints of beer can you buy with six pence today, compared with the soldier's three or four pints?

This is probably unfair, but the matter is rather like picking up a tabloid and being asked to believe the contents after finding the one article or item covered which is within your experience or expertise is plain wrong.

As an author myself, I know that a poor review is cringe-making, so I do hope someone can counterbalance my first impression, but, at the moment, I am not expecting much from the book.

PS: among the websites listed, the GWF is omitted, so what can you expect from the content, when all human knowledge resides here?

Go on, tell me I am wrong.

Okay then, you are wrong. I know plenty of people who have a deep knowledge of the Great War who are not members of this or any internet forum. As for the book and its contents, I have no idea of how good it is (or isn’t). However, having acknowledged how ‘cringe making; a poor review is, could I suggest that you actually read the book in its entirety before posting your critical thoughts gathered from a first impression? I would have thought the author deserves at least that.