The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Searching for Patrick McCann

I am searching for information on Patrick Francis McCann. I am new at this, and unfortunately have very little to go on as all his records were destroyed by his "eccentric" wife upon his death in 1957 - including it seems his medals.

From a very brief handwritten draft of his obituary found in his deceased son's papers, he was born in 1890 in Ireland and was awarded the military medal during WW1. I found an entry in the London Gazette (12/7/1918) for:

1/5526 Patrick McCann, Royal Munster Fusiliers (Clonakilty)

but this was for the Belgium Croix de Guerre ... unless I am reading it wrong. Also on the medal index on-line there is an entry for:

RMF 5526 Private

RMF 5526 Colour Sargeant

There are so many Patrick McCanns out there a person can go quite cross-eyed, but I'm pretty sure this is him due to being the only medal listing in the Gazette I could find. Although I guess not a certainty. I have visted various sites that mention the RMF and found one that stated only two members of the RMF received the Belgium Croix de Guerre.

Also it seems due to his health he lef the RMF and joined a Flying Corp (Royal Flying Corps??). I have read at the PRO that soldiers who transferred to another service would have taken their records with them so I gather they may not have been stored at the archives destroyed in the WW11 bombing?? As stated I am new at this and live in Australia so would need to organise for a researcher to look up records, and I don't wish to waste funds if I send them to the wrong place. I seem to have painted myself into a corner.