The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

A

Guest Geordie Lad

Sympathise with your plight - sadly it does demonstrate yet again that it is relatively easier to research those who died in comparison to finding ways fo researching one who 'came through.'

I'm not a PRO person - as you say, it's in London and too expensive and, from what I've been told, very difficult to achieve good 'percentage' results.

I kepo come back to local newspapers, but I can say that the local newspapers which form the basis of my research had a weekly column called 'Items About Our Soldiers' which was literally a WW1 'gossip from the trenches' - I realise you may not be so lucky, but if you had the time it may well be worthwhile seeking a similar news source via the local reference library?

You may find he's mentioned in there somewhere - especially if he was wounded.

I hope some other forum members will prove more able with their advice than me.

Best of luck anyway.

Des

Geordie

I saw this R.W. Wilkinson thread last and have posted a message on your other Northumberland Fusiliers thread. The absent voters List (only one, and I think it is 1918) for Newcastle is in Newcastle Central Library in Hardback Copy (no paying).

Someone has said that absent voters are listed at the end of some sections in the ordinary voters lists for other years. I have not checked this yet.

Kate

Sorry Geordie

Don't know the whereabouts of Jarrow lists but Gateshead or South Shields might have them and of course there is always Durham Record office. This is the only book named as Absent voters in Newcastle for one year but I think there are some dotted about in the ordinary voters lists for other years.

It seems to me that you know skads not nowt.

Haven't forgotten about your officers 2nd battalion

Kate

Geordie

I'm sure you will get your information eventually even if its just 'No. I couldn't find him.' Remember we are playing the long game here.