The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

1st Grenadier Guards December 1916

Guest Hangleton

Guest Hangleton

Hi All

Can anyone help with info as to what the 1st Grenadier Guards were involved in around December 1916? I have a relative died of wounds and commemorated on the Thiepval monument (this info was from the CWGC site). Pte JOHN JOSEPH ACRES 14095.

Also (sorry, I'm new to all this so excuse my ignorance), the medal index card says "Clasp 2/2595" - presumably this a medal clasp - why would he have received it?

I have noted from other threads that the records for the Grenadiers survive so that will be my next step.

Many thanks

The Grenadiers' are at Birdcage walk in London from memory and you have to write to them for info. They have a web site of course - just Google it!

Have you looked here http://www.1914-1918.net/grenguards.htm for unit info?

And here http://www.roll-of-honour.com/Bedfordshire/index.html (Bedfordshire one, so will need to follow the county link) to see if theres any more info on him?

There are a couple of Grenadier Guards experts on forum, so best I leave the rest to them! Good luck. :)

They were holding the line between Sailly-Saillesel and Rancourt on the Somme, with HQs in Combles. The Guards Division began a cemetery there, called Guards Cemetery, which is still there to this day.

From Ponsonby's history:

"On the 10th (November) the 1st Battalion moved in French motor buses to the sandpits at Meaulte, where it remained five days. After spending forty-eight hours at D Camp in Trones Wood, it went into the front trenches east of Gueudecourt, with the Australian Division (sic) on the left and the 1st Guards Brigade on the right. The Battalion spent three uneventful days in the trenches, except that while it was being relieved by the 59th Australian Infantry, Lieutenant VCH Gordon-Lennox was wounded. On the 20th the Battalion proceeded to Montauban, moving on the following day to Meaulte.