The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Prussian Guards

Jamie1906

My dad tells a story that my Grandfather had his jaw broken in hand to hand fighting by a Prussian Guard.

Obviously i don't know if this story is true.

I have no knowledge of the German Army structure. Is there such a regiment? And in what quantity (number of battalions etc) would they be found in during the war.

I attempted to find an Order of Battle for the German Army with little sucess on the net.

Thanks

Jamie

The German order-of-battle differs quite much from British and French (on my opinion) and I`m having trouble understanding the whole system myself :blink:

I`m sure u get help from here... but do u know anything on ur granfather`s army service? That might even help a bit. There ARE Guard-regiments in German Army, some from Prussia...

My grandfathers service is a little difficult to pin down, what i do know is the following:-

enlisted on 13 Aug 1914 into the 10th HLI

served with the 10th HLI during the Battle of Loos

amalgamated with the 11th HLI to form 10/11th HLI in May 1916

then according to the medal rolls also served with:-

the 15th HLI

back to the 10/11th HLI

to the 14th HLI

i have no idea when or why he served with the above Bn's, i suspect that he was either wounded or transfered to the other battalions to make up the numbers.

then transfered to the 1/4 KOSB in June 1918 and demobed in Jan 1919

I hasten to say that his service records don't exist

Hello,

There were quite a few Prussian Guard Regiments and Divisions (not to mention Prussian Grenadier Regiments, often also considered Guard).

Personally, I would not believe this story immediately. Real hand to hand fighting was very rare and to get your jaw broken and not being captured in the same action looks even more suspicious to me. However, everything's possible of course...

Jan

Reference to early war encounter with 'Prussian Guard' below.