The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Who's writing a Roll of Honour for your town/village for 100th ann

potty5

Hi, just thought I would post this in the forum regarding the number of budding authors who are writing a Roll of Honour for their town/village etc for the 100th anniversary. Hopefully forum members may have photos to help out the authors searching for photos. I will kick off with my own effort which is titled WHERE THE FALLEN LIVE FOREVER - ON THE GREAT WAR MEMORIALS OF CREWE & NANTWICH. I have been writing it for 5 years and have 1,186 men in the book. Of these I have 417 photos of them and 313 service records. Over to you!!!

I'm researching the men commemorated on the War Memorials in Dudley, Gornal and Sedgley.

Maybe a website one day...

As stated to the left & below, the county and island of Anglesey, about a thousand names. Might even get it in print in the next couple of years or so (given time...I've only been at it since 1973...)

Clive

I have done Coventry Roll of Honour 3500 men 1500 photos since 2009 I have added six photos. You may get to a point where you have exhausted all printed works, but need to reach out to the families...

I'm covering the Borough of Bracknell Forest in Berkshire, approximately 500 names

Possibly to be followed by the private schools in the borough, and then Wellington College.

Andrewr

Tharkin,

I can't seem to send you a PM.

Rifleman 4943 C E D Philpott, 1st KRRC:

This chap is on Dudley's War memorial, but I have no date of death for him. Supposedly resident at 55 Freeman St, Coventry.

Can you oblige?

I am planning something on two tiny hamlets in Kent, Brenzett and Snargate. More of a pamphlet than a book.

John,

There is a Pension Record for him on ancestry. He has been in the Army since 1902 and was discharged on 8.10.15 - "Discharged, termination of service"

Employed as an Officer's servant and signaller.