The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

'Essential' academic reading

CIGS

I am a history student about to enter the final year of my degree. I am going to be doing a course on World War One, and need to compile an annotated bibliography. We have been provided with a reading list, but are also encouraged to read publications outside it, and so I come to you to ask your opinion on what books would be good choices. The only caveat is that they cannot be too mainstream, and need a certain level of academic credibility. I do not think you fine people would recommend me otherwise, but I could not cite 'The Frightful First World War', as much as I may love Horrible Histories! The course is called 'Global Perspectives' and will focus on what happened in each of the major belligerents as a consequence of the war, so if anybody knows of any titles skewed towards this aspect, it would be greatly appreciated, although I am willing to accept all suggestions (at the very least they will fuel my long standing interest in the conflict even if they are of no use to me in my course).

So, what publications would you recommend? Thank you for your help!

Not so much titles as authors, Gary Sheffield, Hew Strachan, John Bourne, Ian Beckett, and William Philpott are where I would start. Although their books are mainstream, they are based on rigorous academic research, and would lead you on to other sources of information.

For a modern balanced view of the western front Gary Sheffield's 'Forgotten Victory' is good book and I believe is a fully referenced academic work. My own area of interest is the Salonika Campaign the accepted authoritative book on the Balkans is 'The Gardeners of Salonika' by Alan Palmer, as well as describing the military campaing it gives details of the political machinations between the French, the British and the Greeks, and of course it all started in the Balkans!