The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Campaign 1914, Chris Pollendine

hatch_five

Well it finally arrived today and I can say this is one book worth waiting for. I've only had a quick flick through but straight off the photography comes across as superb and the paper quality is top notch. The selection of items included is very comprehensive, with unusual items like variations in mess tin covers, private purchase officers kit and kitchener's army uniforms included. The accompanying text, at first glance, seems of an equally high quality and I am looking forward to reading it in depth this weekend. I can't recommend this enough and I'm looking forward to the next 4 volumes!

• 2 weeks later...

I have it, came last week and it certainly is a very good book. I am no expert on WWI items so much of it I have to take on faith as being accurate.

For me, it would have been more useful if it had been divided by volume into the separate subjects rather than by separate subjects within a volume for each year. A book on headgear, another on tunics etc would have suited me better, but that is just my personal preference and would have suited easier searching of a particular area of interest, though if they had published it that way I might only have bought one or two of the volumes, while in this format I might have to buy all of them.

Jerry, I think your last sentence answers its own question.. I am not implying any cynical motive on behalf of the publishers (or author) and the copy I briefly glanced at shows the book to be an excellent production. But yes, theme rather than chronology might have helped those on tighter budgets.

Theme rather than chronology might have helped those on tighter budgets.

I sort of sympathise, yet then I'm not sure that would be that practical or low budget. For instance, the whole book is only eight pages longer than Mike Haselgrove and Branislav Radovic's chapter on British helmets in vol. 2 of their masterwork. And that's £59.