The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Researching Dog Tags

priv

Pals,

I have been researching a pair of dog tags I have had for a few years, now that the online MIC's have ot a little further down the alphabet !

Surname is SAMME

Number is 22823

Regiment Queens (Royal West Surrey)

The online MIC shows that he had a change of number (whilst remaining with the regiment) to TR/159426

Can anyone explain why the number would have changed like this - would the tags have been replaced or should they have been replaced as a result ? I remember an earlier thread on the prefix's, but i cn't for the life of me find it.

Many thanks in advance

James

I have absolutly no Idea James. But to start the guessing ball rolling (that always brings out the people that really know just to correct you :P )

Might TR stand for Teritorial Reserve? He had left active service and this was his new number.

He may have just been given a very different role that necesitated a number change?

L.

Sorry for being absolutely no help whatsoever.

I can't say I've come across "TR" before... so unfortunately I'm with you Leigh :ph34r:

One of the enlightened ones must know......... anyone?

Les.

The online MIC shows that he had a change of number (whilst remaining with the regiment) to TR/159426

Can anyone explain why the number would have changed like this - would the tags have been replaced or should they have been replaced as a result ? I remember an earlier thread on the prefix's, but i cn't for the life of me find it.

James: It could mean "Training Reserve" Battalion

TR is a standard prefix for Training Reserve.

Do you know if the TR number was the first number he had?

When the Training Reserve was formed in Sept 1916 it was standard for a soldier to be assigned a TR number when he joined. He would have been renumber automatically when he joined another regiment.