The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Suffolk Regt Cap Badges

andrew.march

Hello,

I've been researching my Great Grandfather recently, 18222 Pvt. James A Taylor of 2nd Battalion The Suffolk Regiment who was sadly KIA in May 1917 near Arras.

I've already visited his final resting place, and I'm planning soon to take a trip to view the regimental war diary in order that I can find out what actions his unit was involved in around that time. I will in due course prepare a post presenting what I have been able to find out about him that hopefully somebody may be able to help me expand on!

In the mean time I have a couple of quick queries that I'm hoping somebody may be able to advise me on.

Whilst visiting France I bought this cap badge that I'm fairly convinced is an authentic period item, but I am no expert! Please could someone give me their opinion on whether it is in fact genuine and of the WWI period, and whether it would be likely be the same as that issued to my Great Grandfather?

CapBadge_zps024b8e9a.jpg

The reason I ask if it is likely to be the same as issued is that I have found a picture that shows (who I presume to be) him with three friends, I would guess soon after they had volunteered.

The picture has them all wearing what seem to be the 'two turret' design of regiment cap badge - if this is indeed the case, would they have been likely to have worn these into active service or would they have been exchanged for new ones before then?

Badges_zpscacf9c71.jpg

Kind regards,

Andrew

There were "two Turret " versions for the 4th/5th/6th (Cyclists)Battalions, The Suffolk Regiment T F also without the "Montes Isignia Calpe" motto

Eddie

Thanks both. I had seen economy issue badges before, but had thought otherwise as they seemed to be of only one metal. What are the characteristics that make mine one?