The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Just offered a publishing deal on my WWI trilogy. Looking for another

Puddinhead

I've been popping in an out of here for over a year as I write away. Two days ago, I finally heard back from my editor, who is offering a contract for my trilogy. The first is complete - the following two are in process.

My first book in the series has been beta'ed by an Englishwoman, to assure as a Yank that I'm getting the grammar right. I've also consulted with a doctor and a few nurses regarding medical issues. What I could use is an expert pair of eyes to make sure I don't make egregious errors regarding details about the war. I am an ex history teacher and have studied the war. I've made great efforts to tell it as it was, so don't worry that I'll be doing anything too ridiculous, like having the lads chat with one another via cell phone. Still, an extra pair of eyes would be wonderful. I'd just need you to read it and tell me if anything is too jarring.

What would you be getting into? The trilogy is about three siblings from West Sussex. One deals with life back home and German POWs, another tale is about balloonatics and journalists at the front. But the finished story, the one that will be published in May, is about the eldest son who suffers a head injury on the first day of the Battle of the Somme and centers around his experience at a base hospital and his ethereal visions of (or perhaps visits to) the trenches whenever he endures a seizure. The book also touches on some of the medical issues of the time, such as introducing blood typing.

Oh, and because a vague disclaimer is nobody's friend - though it is not strictly a 'romance' according to my editor, you should know that it has heavy romantic elements.