The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Humphrey Cobb

Guest Bigorca

I am a Toronto author of a variety of books asscoiated with Canadian history, and during my researches have discovered an unpublished novella by Humphrey Cobb, the author of "Paths of Glory" which is better known to most people in its film version, starring Kirk Douglas and directed by Stanley Kubrick. The unpublished novella, which my publisher hopes to release a year from now with my Introduction, is of interest on several counts, not least being that the characters are entirely Canadian, and the two protagonists fight as part of the CEF at the Western Front. The battles scenes are especially well written and gripping.

Cobb, although an American, fought with the Royal Montreal Regiment. He was wounded twice and gassed once. Alas, I have been unable to find many biographical facts or profiles of Cobb, and so write to request that members of this Forum alert me should they find anything. Naturally I have obtained his full file from the NAC, and have examined the usual literary sources for biog info on authors. I would especially love to find a photo of Cobb in uniform. He signed up with the 244th in Montreal on Sept 30, 1916, was transferred at Shorncliffe to the 23rd Reserve, and then shortly thereafter to the 22nd Reserve before assignation to the 14th Battalion with which he fought in France and Flanders until the Armistice. He was demobbed in Montreal on May 31, 1919. All contributions will happily be acknowledged in the book.

Welcome to the Forum.

I am envious of the discovery of the novella.

I hope that chris.wight and Juice see this, as they are Québec members who may be able to tell you more about the 14th Battalion. I believe many English-speaking men of Québec would have served with the 14th, as opposed to the French speakers, who mostly went to the 22nd (Van Doos).

Peter in Vancouver