The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

koyli

Guest kitycat68

Guest kitycat68

please could anyone help me understand something as im a complete beginner. Im researching information on my grt grandad and no he was in the koyli from the badge on his hat how do i find out which battalion he was in? :unsure: taking a wild guess is it the badge on his shoulder?....sorry if i sound totally stupid :lol:

Hi,

Welcome, and I hope you will find it usefull around here.

The badge on the shoulder, the shouldtitle, was a form of regimental identification as well. In case of the KOYLI, it was just that: KOYLI. If there was some numeral connected to it denoting a battalion, I am not sure. Perhaps you should re-post your question on the other forum for uniforms.

As for the battalion your greatgrandfather was in, what do you already know about him? For example, when did he join the army. If this was already before the war, he might have been in one of the two regular battalions. Before the war, he could also have joined the Territorial Force (part-time army), which also had two battalions. Would he have joined after outbreak of the war, there are a lot more battalions that came into question. Please see here for the koyli page on the 1914-1918 website.

Also, if you know where he did serve during the war, that narrows down the number of possibilities as well.

Hope this is of some use to start with B)

Wienand

Guest kitycat68

thanks for the reply...this is what i know about my grt grandfather so far. he had min 2yrs service/2 yrs good conduct, 2 wound stripes, marksman/ lance corporal. and died in france (poss le chateau, france) 1916 aged approx 21/22. :)

I just thought of the following (amazing how some ideas pop up at a later stage):

have you looked for your grgranddad in the CWGC database? If he has a known grave, there is usually a (short) narrative on the history of the fighting around the cemetery etc. With that information we might find a little more.

Good luck.

Wienand