The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Poor or non-existent editing

daggers

Not for the first time I have had to hold back from binning or setting fire to a Great War book upon finding error upon error in spelling or fact. I am not a proof reader but have an eye for a typo, except on this little keyboard.

Who is to blame for these sadly riddled volumes, author or publisher?  The latest culprit is sold at £25, so should be better.

Daggers

Spill the beans, what've you been reading?

I think proof readers as a job are extinct, just auto spell checkers now.

We're not extinct, we're just not the publishers' top priority....

Initially the author, I suggest. Aren't most books today produced from electronic text supplied by the author? Presumably leading publishers would pass the text to an editor, hopefully, but not always, with some knowledge of the subject, but surely with an eye for grammatical infelicities and spelling errors. Some publishing houses then pass the copy to overseas companies for production. My Wiltshire book was typeset in India, and I assume this was from the slightly-edited version of what I had submitted on CDs, though I'm a little puzzled by the unnecessary initial capitalisation of one word that I had rendered as starting with a lower-case letter.

Reading page proofs (run-offs of the text as it will appear in the book) should always be done by the author but, as we have noted several times before, he or she can be over-familiar with the content and fail to notice errors. (At the other extreme are authors who want to re-write at this stage, though this runs the risk of altering how the text falls on other pages. In the days of "hot metal", publishers would allow authors a certain allowance for their last-minute corrections and charge them for anything in excess.)

An experienced proofreader is a real boon but, as SeaJane says, all too often seen nowadays is seen as a luxury.