The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

RMS Olympic Troopship embarking in Canada

TheAlgy

Hi: I'm new to this, and am looking for any possible further embarkation details of the Canadian 88th battalion, which supposedly embarked from Halifax 2 June 1916 on RMS Olympic. I have a list of names of officers and men in the battalion, but suspect that an advance party of officer(s) and men left on an earlier ship.

Initially I would need a record of the 2/6/1916 sailing together with the names of officers on board (at least), so that if any were missing I could try to trace them on earlier sailings.

I am aware of records WO25/3549 and BT100/432 at the National Archives in Kew (thanks to an earlier related topic on this forum) but would be grateful if anyone can suggest any other records before I head for Kew on a goose-chase!.

My hunch is supported by strong DNA evidence, but the 2/6/1916 sailing is a month or two too late to match the birth date of my ancestor (18/12/1916), at least given the medical facilities available to a poor single mother at the time.

Algy, what makes you so sure that your man would have sailed with the 88th Infantry Battalion? Assuming he originally enlisted with the Victoria Fusiliers it could well be that sometime before embarkation he might have ended up being transferred to another Canadian battalion. It was reported in the Daily Colonist on the 5th September, 1915 that the Fusiliers supplied the following:
– 45 percent of the officers and men of the 30th Battalion, C.E.F., including commanding officer Lieutenant-Colonial Hall. 
– 50 percent of the men and 35 percent of the officers of the 48th Battalion
– 105 men and 3 officers of the 62nd Battalion. 
(The Victoria Fusiliers were a significant recruitment unit attracting many former Brits who had moved to Canada).
MB

Edited by KizmeRD