The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Award Citations

GARY BROAD

Apologies if this is a daft question (I'm relatively new to researching) but are Military Medal award citations available anywhere?

Thanks for your help, it really is very much appreciated !

Gary B

There are no formal citations for the MM. Some awards might get a mention in regimental or unit histories, or war diaries, but there are no citations.

The other likely source of information about MM awards can be local newspapers, but I would not hold your breath.

Edited by keithmroberts

Hi Gary,

For the British Army, Form W-3121 was completed with the Military Medal award citation. The bad news is that they were destroyed by the fire at Arnside Street in 1940.

For those citations that relate to the AIF and CEF, I believe they were taken across the oceans, and later transferred to the archives at Canberra and Ottawa respectively.

Sometimes the citations are reproduced in local newspapers, so a newspaper trawl may be worth doing, if you are researching a particular soldier.

Keith, you're a star. Thanks so much for putting me right. 

Seems a shame that the actions of somebody who's done something sufficiently brave to win  a Military Medal aren't recorded.

Thanks again Keith, all the best.

Gary B

Just now, GARY BROAD said:

Seems a shame that the actions of somebody who's done something sufficiently brave to win  a Military Medal aren't recorded.

You'd have to take up this issue with Hermann Goering, but he is otherwise disposed.

If you look at what was destroyed by the fire, it was a treasure trove of historical documents pertaining to the British Army, and not just the service records of the officers and other ranks.

2 minutes ago, Keith_history_buff said:

Hi Gary,

For the British Army, Form W-3121 was completed with the Military Medal award citation. The bad news is that they were destroyed by the fire at Arnside Street in 1940.