The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Which Regiment

Christopher Walton

Hi guys I’m very new to this group and shamefully new to learning things in the First World War. I have been doing some ancestry work and have found one of my grandfather which I have put on here ( middle row end right) I know absolutely nothing other than his obituary in1952 said he was in the royal garrison artillery. I am no expert and the image isn’t clear if you zoom in but the cap badge doesn’t look like the RGA. His name was John Whitworth from east Lancs (Rawtenstall) if anyone could shed any light on it that would be greatly appreciated. 

IMG_0711.jpeg

1 hour ago, Christopher Walton said:

Hi guys I’m very new to this group and shamefully new to learning things in the First World War. I have been doing some ancestry work and have found one of my grandfather which I have put on here ( middle row end right) I know absolutely nothing other than his obituary in1952 said he was in the royal garrison artillery. I am no expert and the image isn’t clear if you zoom in but the cap badge doesn’t look like the RGA. His name was John Whitworth from east Lancs (Rawtenstall) if anyone could shed any light on it that would be greatly appreciated. 

IMG_0711.jpeg

Army Service Corps (ASC) I think.  The artillery association suggests that they might be from the artillery brigade ammunition column that was manned predominantly by the ASC along with a few from the artillery. They appear to be Territorial Force and a T can be seen on the shoulder title on the man seated on the ground at far right.

Edited by FROGSMILE

There was this chap in the Home Guard in WW2 Lancashire, England, World War II Home Guard Records, 1940-1945 - Ancestry.co.uk

Name John Whitworth
Gender Male
Enlistment Age 55
Event Type Military Enlistment
Birth Date abt 1885
Residence Date 1940
Residence Place Rawtenstall, Lancashire, England
Enlistment Date 22 Nov 1940
Regiment 31st County of Lancaster (Rossendale) Battalion