The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Where do I go with just a medal roll & index reference?

elfinblues

Dear everyone,

This is my first time posting here, but I stumbled upon your website and realised how much knowledge there is here, so I'm hoping that you might be able to help.

I have recently set out on a mission to learn about the First World War service of my great-uncle, Charles Herbert Humphrey, from Sussex. The sum total of what I knew about him when I started was that, according to his son (who is no longer alive), is that he "drove one of the diamond-shaped tanks at the Battle of the Somme". That's it. I have tried to find his service record on Ancestry, with no luck, but through a process of elimination I did find possible entries for him in the WW1 Service Medal and Award Rolls and on the Medal Rolls Index Cards. The most likely seems a Charles Herbert Henry who served as a gunner with the Machine Gun Corps (HB) (91530) and also with the ASC (MT) (M2/229436) and the Royal Engineers (310563). Because these sources do not contain any address or next of kin information, though, I cannot be certain that it is him. Might anyone be able to offer any advice on what my best move from here would be? I am rather a newcomer to this and would enormously appreciate any advice. Thank you so much in advance.

welcome to the forum.

unfortunately, its often the case that those who survived may have very little in the way of a paper trail than those wounded or killed.

, an ancestry, using Sussex as a place lived and +-10 years as a date of birth  search, gives 7 results  looks like the same man.

born 1888 died 1973. does this sound right? if so there could be a family tree but as normal no military information.

widening the search , only gives one Herbert Humphrey in the Tank Corps 318232. Fold 3 also only shows a MIC and roll for this man.

Of course, its not 100% the man used his original Christian names.  Hence dropping a Charles, or changing Herbert to Bert.