The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Sanitätshunds (And their handlers)

PouncePeruses

Hello! I am new to the use of forums (in any aspect) so my apologies if this is improper procedure or place.

I've been long interested in Sanitätshunds/Mercy dogs and am always on the hunt for more information/sources surrounding them (and the German Medical Service as a whole, please drop any recommendations for basic research/reading!)

I've read through Richardsons' British War Dogs as well as Jager's Scout, Red Cross, and Army Dogs along with many other various online sources. I've really struggled with finding German sources/information on German dogs (could be due to the fact that I am an American and my first and only language is English...). I've tried to find a way to access the annual reports of the German Medical Dog Associate with little luck. Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

Regardless!: I've read recently that Sanitatshund handlers were volunteers through the medical service and this has quickly made me realize I know nothing of how the medical service was organized (or if this fact is even true), but especially the selection of sanitatshund handlers. Are these handlers medically trained, and if so, to what degree? Or do they merely accompany other medical support while their responsibility is limited to their dog? Is it typical for them to be armed, as seen in the second photo?

This is all a long-winded way of saying can anyone tell me anything about this topic, but, more specifically, about these photos? And if you can, please share any and all knowledge you have on the subject or good places to go digging for more info!

Thanks all! Sorry for the ramble!

image.png.7c7d5a1f0e86f8ee4fe2efd2406125e8.pngimage.png.61dc99fd9278e9d214ec9dda446acd7e.png

12 hours ago, PouncePeruses said:

first and only language is English

Which puts you at a bit of a disadvantage :)