The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Cecil Alexander Rutherford

AlbertaHistory

Hi everyone,

I am a researcher at Rutherford House Provincial Historic Site, the home of Alberta's first premier Alexander Cameron Rutherford. I am interested to see if anyone possibly has ever come across military records pertaining to Rutherford's son, Cecil Alexander Rutherford (b.1890-d.1957).

We presently know little about Cecil's war service due to a lack of available records (and the fact that Cecil rarely wrote letters home during the war). Presently, we believe that Cecil enlisted in the Royal Garrison Artillery (RGA) during July or August 1916. He received training as a cadet in Dover, England, before returning home to Edmonton, Alberta. Cecil reportedly returned home to Edmonton as he was having difficulty in attaining a commission and thought it would be easier to get a commission in Edmonton. He was discharged from the RGA in January or February of 1917, having received a commission in heavy artillery on February 12, 1917 with the 78th Overseas Depot Battery stationed in Lethbridge. In March of 1917, Cecil headed to Quebec for his first round of officers training. This information comes from a research document whose source material we no longer have access to.

After receiving training in Quebec Cecil was sent to England for additional training. He went to the Royal Artillery Officers' Cadet College in Trowbridge, England, for three months, starting presumably on July 2, 1917. Cecil was formally transferred from the 78th Overseas Depot Battery to the 248th Siege Battalion, RGA, BEF. He was enlisted as a cadet and received his commission on December 1, 1917. 

image.jpeg.c615c86241a97dc6bb14e807a9afb947.jpeg

(Image 625 from Imperial War Service Gratuities Reference RG9-II-F-10, Volume 231, Library and Archives Canada Canada)