The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

My Great-Great Uncle

McIntee

Hello all!

I've just joined this community so this will be my first post. First of many I hope :)

I have chosen my Great-Great Uncle's name as a screen name. Thomas McIntee was a private of 10th Battalion, Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders. He was killed in his first battle, The Battle of Loos.

I have been researching him for the last two years or so I guess and have managed to find out a few things. Yet, there is much still to learn. I also have the problem that I don't live in England and so have to rely on letters and phonecalls to find out what I want to know.

I know where he enlisted, when (rougly), his Battalion, service number, when he died and by reading about the battle I have some idea about where he was before he died. I also have his date of death. I am desperate to find out what Company he was in though. Is this possible to find out? I wrote to his regiment but they could tell me nothing.

Also, could someone tell me what K1 means? I read on this site that 10th Battalion was formed as part of K1 but I do not know what it means. Also, am I right in thinking that Thomas would be eligable for medals (the 1915 star, 1914-1916 medal and the victory medal) even though he died at Loos?

Thanks,

John

WELCOME John!!

K1 was Kitchener's First Army, often known as The First Hundred Thousand (which is also the title of a book by Ian Hay, which could be a useful read as background research).

Kitchener's pointing finger image raised the New Armies (generally from men with little or no military experience) that would be needed to join the Regulars and the Territorials in the line.

Hello John

Thomas would have been entitled to the 1914-15 Star, the British War Medal and the Victory Medal. They would have been sent to his next of kin after the war, as would a bronze plaque.