The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Cpl William Sales - 7th Royal West Kents

Guest Meljane

I am new to all this and just wondered if anyone could help... a bit of a long shot, but I am looking for information about 201178 Corporal William Henry Sales, 7th Bn Royal West Kent Regiment, died 21st March 1918 and commemorated on the Pozieres Memorial.

I believe that the 7th Bn was taking part in the Battle of St Quentin on that date, but whether Uncle Will died in action at the battle, or died of wounds recevied in an earlier action, we will probably never know.

But if anyone can help with more info on the Regiment, or the Battle of St Quentin, I would be more than grateful.

Thanks!

Melanie

According to soldiers died, William Sale was killed in action on the 21 March 1918 so hopefully that answers one question. If you live in/near Kent copies of the Royal West Kents Regimental History for 1914-1918, should be available at the major reference libraries and would detail the action for this day (I think I have used it at Maidstone and Gillingham libraries). Obviously the War Diaries at Kew would also give you detailed information of the 7 Bttn on this day.

I rememberered also that I recently read in Middlebrook's "The Kaiser's Battle" that of the 7485 British soldiers kia 21 March 1918 only 978 have known graves and that the 7/RWK was one of a handful of battalions to suffer more than 50 fatalities on that day but with not a single soldier in his own marked grave.

Also try this link - it has chapters 1-9 and 21 of the RWK regimental history. As yet it does not cover 21 March 1918 but hopefully it will in the near future:

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~s...nt_regiment.htm

Trust this helps.

7th Buffs,were part of the 18th Eastern Division and were on the left of the 58th Division,on the 21st of March 1918,as were the 7th West Kents,of 53rd Brigade.