The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

7th bn northumberland fusiliers

dinger181

Hi,

I am looking for information on 3370 pte James Porteous 7th bn Northumberland Fusiliers 149bg 50th division. He was a territorial soldier from West Westwood, Wooler, Northumberland and died on the 27th March 1916. I would like to know how he died and if he was the lone soldier that was killed in the attack, from trenches 34L to 47S at 4.15am on that day taking the two craters at St eloi, he is buried in the railway dugouts burial ground.

I am so close to finding out the whole story please help if you can.

regards Alan.

welcome

he enlisted in Alnwick, Northumberland and is recorded as being killed in action

that said this chap is james not John

Ah you got THAT group! Well done - its a nice one i had been looking at for a while! Still its hard to get upset as long as youve bid your max and there is someone prepared to pay more than you....

Good luck with the research.

Marc

Hi im new to this game,i am looking for information on 3370 pte James Porteous 7th bn Northumberland Fusiliers 149bg 50th division. He was a territorial soldier from Wooler, Northumberland and died on the 27th March 1916. I would like to know how he died and if he was the lone soldier killed, in the attack at 4.15am on that day taking the craters in St eloi, he is buried in the railway dugouts burial ground.

I am so close to finding out the whole story please help if you can.

regards Alan.

Hi Allan,

I try to run a web site about the 7th NF, which will never be comprehensive, but has some info about later events.

I have checked Both the 50th Div History, and Capt Francis buckley's Q6a and other places, which is the best personal account of the 7th NF.

His entry for the day reads;