The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

John Denton

Guest Lisa Barrass

Guest Lisa Barrass

Hello everyone, I'm new to this message board. I'm trying to find out any info on my great-great uncle John Denton. I did have his service number and a small extract from the C.O diary/log for the day he died but have mislaid it. John Denton served with the Northumberland Fusiliers and was killed when the trench he was occupying with others was accidently shelled by his own side in the early hours of 3rd September 1915. In all your research has anyone come across any more information about this incident or any references to Pte Denton. I have a photograph of him taken in Newcastle in his uniform.

Thank you

Lisa Barrass

Guest Lisa Barrass

Thanks Chris.

Spurred on by putting my message on this board I've turned the house upside down and found the copy of the diary (War Diary Index No WO95/1430)

John Denton's number was 16755 and he died on the 2nd September not the 3rd (sorry). If anyone is interested I can post the diary entry.

Lisa Barrass

Guest lemon trench

Hi Lisa

John Denton was the son of John & Sarah Denton, 2 Shaw Street, Greenhill lane, Alfreton, Derbyshire.

He is commemorated on the Menin Gate Panel 8 & 12

Guest Lisa Barrass

Hi Lemon Trench.

John Denton was my maternal grandmother's uncle, known as Jack. He was the only surviving son of Sarah and John. My grandmother, who died three years ago, was seven when he died and the shock of the news was believed to have caused her grandmother (Sarah) to have a massive stroke. My grandmother found her on the floor holding the notice of his death. I'm really interested in finding out more about Jack (John), such as his occupation before joining up. My grandmother can remember him coming home on a Friday with cake which they would eat on the doorstep! However, she could not recall his pre-war occupation. Would such information be on his enlistment records? How could I find this out?