The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

RIR

Guest finfin

This is my first time on this forum, so here goes. For some time I have been researching the wartime life of my great-uncle who served in the RIR 2nd Battalion and was in Europe for the duration of the war, as far as I can tell. I have numerous questions, but I'll just begin with these two for starters...

1) my great-uncle also served in the labour corp, toward the end of 1918. I have found only scant references to the labour corp itself so far but I was wondering where I could find more information on the Labour Corp? Was this something you were "volunteered" for? If you were sent to the Labour Corp from your battalion would that suggest some form of punishment? I know through relatives that my great-uncle received filed punishment #1, so I have always wondered would the two have been connected?

2) I have medical records of my great-uncle (he suffered shell-shock in the subsequent years after the war ended) and in them it shows that he had tatoos along one arm. I have not been able to find any references on what might have been common tatoos in the military at that time. Does anyone have any suggestions on publications I might find such informaition?

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks

Hello finfin, welcome to the forum

There is some information on the Labour Corps on the Long, LongTrail on this page, but it is rather scanty as I have not yet spent a lot of time building it up. However, we have sevaral regualr forum users - notably Ivor Lee - who are quite expert on this subject and I'm sure they will help you out.

The Labour Corps was not a form of punishment, but a properly-founded and eventually huge organisation that carried out vital work in road building and mending, same with railways, entrenchments, etc.