The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

thomas foster

Guest sarahw32

i hope someone can help me as i am new to this i am trying to find out about my great grandfather thomas foster who is believed to have served with the bedfordshire regiment in the first world wara nd was awarded the military medal sometime during his service in france i believe i hope someone with more experience will be able to help as i have triend the london gazzette and i am losing heart now

thank you :blink:

Sarah

Welcome to the Forum and don't lose heart yet. I presume you do not still have his medal in the family. If that's the case, then are you sure he was awarded it? If you are sure, then you will find the listing in the London Gazette.

Their search facility can be a so-and-so. So you might have to play around for quite a while. I entered the name as T. Foster and got over 50 hits. Don't forget to put the full stop in after his initial! As a rough estimate, he will have won his MM about three months before the date of the Gazette.

However, the bad news is that this will not give you any details of what he did. It might be worth you trying the Bedfords regimental museum at Luton. Alternatively, you will need to track down his battalion's War Diary at the National Archives at Kew (the mother site to this Forum gives some good ideas abotu "tracing Grandads war").

In any event, I'm afraid it's still pretty unlikely that there will be any mention of the specifics. MMs were fairly commonplace.

The final possibility is to try the local newspaper, if there was one near where he lived. This might actually be your best bet and worth a try first.

Good hunting.

John

Sarah

There are index cards for the Military Medal at the PRO. This will give you an indication of when the medal was won and the date when it was gazetted. There's also the man's service record, medal index card and medal roll to look for. Details of where/how to look are on the parent site.

Michael

Sarah - Welcome to the Forum.