The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Territorial Battalions

InkyBill

Hi Pals, help required please

A man i'm studying (Pte Charles Bailey) served with the 6th Battalion London Regiment, he was killed in the Ypres Salient on 24th July 1917 during the preliminary bombardment for 3rd Ypres. His service record no longer exists and i'm having trouble linking him to either the 1/6th or 2/6th Battalion. (I must stress at this point i have not consulted the battalion war diaries which would tell me where these two battalions were on this date).

The 1/6th arrived in France in March 1915, Charles MIC states he was only entitled to the BWM and VM which means he must of landed after 1915. Therefore would i be correct in thinking that whilst in England he was attached to the 2/6th and may have been drafted to the 1/6th or did he arrive with the 2/6th in January 1917 when this second line battalion crossed to France.

Another clue lies in his service number, he was 322774 but his MIC says formally 5630. Checking those men who died around the same time as Pte Bailey using SDGW the majority are men of the 1/6th according to CWGC.

Any Ideas

Marc

Marc

I would say probably 1/6th as 47 div were in the salient at this time.

If you look at the BW&VM medal roll of the 6th (WO 329 /1915) rather than the MIC it will give you the dates that he was in France, which should give your answer. ALL the bns of the London Regt have this which is very useful.