The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

25 April 1915

Dolphin

This book is sub-titled The Day the Anzac Legend was born and, as the title suggests, it's a detailed account of the landing at Anzac Cove. It's meant for Australasian readers, so events at Helles and Kum Kale are really mentioned only in passing.

The author has chosen to give an account in chronological order of events all over the landing site, rather than to divide the action into geographical areas and write about the sequence of events at particular locations. Hence, it's apparent that while a was happening at one place, b was going on elsewhere, while c was also taking place. This helps to give a good impression of the confusion that was part of the action on the fateful day.

Fortunately for the reader, the book is well supplied with maps, often of fairly small areas, that greatly assist one to follow developments on that most confusing landscape.

I'm by no means an expert on the Anzac landing, but the book appears to be a good account of the day. I noticed what I think is a very minor error, where the Tsar is referred to as Grand Duke Nicholas - I think he's being confused with his cousin, the Army Commander-in-Chief.

Another point that might be noticed only by dedicated Rugby followers is that Major Blair Swannell of the 1st Battalion, AIF, is correctly referred to as an international player, but this doesn't give him his full glory as a dual international, having played for both Great Britain and Australia.

According to a local bookshop, the first edition of the book has been sold out, though I saw several copies in a Borders store this morning. The rapid sales are a testament to the book's worth. I'd suggest that it's as good account of the first Anzac Day as we're likely to get.

Gareth