The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Gallipoli Books

PoW1988

Hi Pals

I am not sure if I have put this in the right area but I will batter on ahead anyway. As many of you know I am studying the Great War at university, first lecture today and I have picked an essay to do already...geek. I wont tell you the exact essay title because I wont be accused of cheating and potentially put my degree at risk, but I wondered if anyone could point me in the direction of some book on the Gallipoli campaign which have focus on the actions of certain military personnel and institutions. I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance!

Lynz :lol:

'Gallipoli' by L. A. Carlyon (2001) is the most beautifully written and balanced account in my view.

'Anzac and Empire - The Tragedy and Glory of Gallipoli' by John Roberson is also very good, and beautifully illustrated.

ciao,

GAC

'Gallipoli' by L. A. Carlyon, pub. 2001 - agree with GAC, this book is very readable

'Gallipoli' by Michael Hickey, pub.1995

'Gallipoli' by Robert Rhodes James, pub.1965

quote: "some book on the Gallipoli campaign which have focus on the actions of certain military personnel and institutions"

If you can say a little more, then perhaps the Pals can come up with some more suggestions

best of luck

Michael

Two paperbacks from The Stationery Office. Lord Kitchener and Winston Churchill: The Dardanelles Part 1. Defeat at Gallipoli Part 2. The findings of the official inquiry into The Gallipoli Campaign. Planning, intention, all the political background before and after. In other words, not at all what you asked for but great background and the real reasons for the men being there.

Les Carlyon's book is readily available and excellent. Tim Travers did a very good overview book on the campaign (I think it's called Gallipoli 1915).

Charles Bean's Australian official histories are available free online (my favourite price :D ) here