The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Maj Gen Oliver Nugent and the Ulster Division 1915-1918

ALANJONES

The Army Records Society (ARS) have just published this edited collection of Nugent' papers. I am not an expert on the Division or Nugent but thought this would be of interest to many.

Sutton publish the book at £50, but the ARS is a subscription membership which entitles you to a new publication each year [sometimes two]. The link below takes you to the ARS sites [specifically their previous publications, many of which will be of interest to members of the Forum]. Joining as a member entitles you to Nugent's volume and the opportunity to order back copies. You can chose how long you wish to remain a member for, of course. but I have found the range of topics particularly interesting.

http://www.armyrecordssociety.org.uk/PreviousPubs.htm

The papers are based around his letters, most to his wife, and have a frank and very contemporary tone, providing an insight into the battles fought by the Ulster Division/36th Division and the highly charged political context of its formation and the relationship with the Irish Division. His descriptions of front line command are also illuminating for those who wonder how often 'The Brass' went forward. He was an enthusiast for aeriel recces, going over the enemy lines himself, and took a keen interest in the results of raids. He tells of the harsh realities of combat, describing one particular raid in detail 'our men [North Irish Horse] were rather excited and saw red and they took no prisoners. They did take some at first, but got bored with them and killed them ...............'.

Recommended as a particularly informative read - it would be interesting to hear from others who know more about the specific events.

Alan