The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Chords to Great War songs

redorchestra

I am a bit of a musician, but lately I get really bored playing the same old tat. I'd really like to combine my two main interests of music and history and try to learn some Great War songs. Therefore would anyone care to help me create a list of chords of soldiers songs? I play accordion and guitar so just the chords would be fine, although if anyone has the sheet music that'd be useful as well!

I have a book which has a few WW1 tunes in it - 'Goodbye-ee', 'Take me back to dear old blighty' etc, but I'm not convinced they are right.

At the moment I'm trying to work out 'Whiter than the whitewash on the wall' as it sounds fairly easy..

:lol:

I am a bit of a musician, but lately I get really bored playing the same old tat. I'd really like to combine my two main interests of music and history and try to learn some Great War songs. I play accordion and guitar so just the chords would be fine, although if anyone has the sheet music that'd be useful as well!

At the moment I'm trying to work out 'Whiter than the whitewash on the wall' as it sounds fairly easy..

keith.newton97@tiscali.co.uk I can lend {send to you} a ''Daily Express'' WW1 song book with chords,but would like it back at some time,because it belonged to my late father.The book is ''SONGS THAT WON THE WAR'',a community song book,but it is number 3 of;I do not know how many. CockyWeen. PS;alternitivly,I could scan it page by page over several sessions and E.mail it.

That's very kind of you, I wouldn't send such a treasured item through the post if i were you though!

If you could scan it that would be great, or even just jot the chords down?

I can help out with most WW1 songs. I don't have a copy of "Whiter than the whitewash" and can only remember the chorus. If you play it in C major, the tune will begin on a G and the chords would be:

Whiter than the whitewash on the wall,

C C G -

Whiter than the whitewash on the wall,