The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Scots Guards Cap badge

The Greens

Hope someone can help.

I would like to add a picture of the cap badge of the Scots Guards to the diary I am doing of Charles Green.

I have enclosed a copy of the picture of Charles Green in uniform with his cap on his knee.

I found two possible badges which belong to the Scots Guards but which one would Charles have had WW1.

My initial feeling was the lower one not the top one.

Would be grateful if someone could clear this up for me.

regards

Sue

New Zealand

post-22551-1202933024.jpg

Lower one is Royal Scots, not Scots Guards, so the upper one.

Having said that (I'm no expert) it looks as if it might be officer pattern. I'm sure other members will chip in.

Hello, I agree with Steven, it's the top badge that the Scots Guards wore. The lower badge is that of the Royal Scots which is a different regiment all together. I notice your Guardsman is wearing the ribbon of the 1914 Star and is also a Cpl. As a Cpl [corporal] I am fairly sure he would have worn a Bi metal capbadge. The NCO's Bi metal badge is not as fancy as the senior NCO's and Officers badge. It is not fretted and does not have any enameling.

It's a great photo.

Regards,

Stewart

Hello, I agree with Steven, it's the top badge that the Scots Guards wore. The lower badge is that of the Royal Scots which is a different regiment all together. I notice your Guardsman is wearing the ribbon of the 1914 Star and is also a Cpl. As a Cpl [corporal] I am fairly sure he would have worn a Bi metal capbadge. The NCO's Bi metal badge is not as fancy as the senior NCO's and Officers badge. It is not fretted and does not have any enameling.

It's a great photo.

Regards,

Stewart