The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

The Great War ( help me?! )

Guest Alice

Well Alice, I hope your friend has taken all these points into consideration.

1) When exactly did the war end?

Nov 11, 1918- the armistice , or in 1920 - Commonwealth War Graves Commission

2) By casualties do you mean deaths, or are you including wounded? Casualty means both

3) What countries are you including? Both sides?

christine

Hello Alice

Sorry you did not get a response when you needed it, desparetely it seems. Don't forget that this is a largely European forum, and we were all asleep at 3am.

I get lots of emails like Alice's via my website. The Phrases "Help Me?!" and "I need information" are usually internet-speak for "I am an American student. I have an essay to hand in tomorrow morning. I have only just started it. Please write it for me."

Tom

I hope we are wrong and will see Alice post again, but I agree with Tom . . . <_<

Tom.... I am not going to agree with the 'American' part of your post, but I also believe you have good reason to think that way.

However, bear in mind that as active military participants in WWI for only 18 months at best, with no where near the casualties of any of the other combatants, the war just isn't covered as frequently in the schools here. I think this trend is also a combination of the fact that the Second World War seems more exciting and is keep alive in every type of movie from Indiana Jones to The Longest Day.

I too hope Alice posts again, less desperately next time.